Burhani Sports Club won the NCBA Cup T20 - 2020 in a nail biting finals at Coast Gymkhana Ground.

posted on Jul 27, 2021

The long awaited conclusion to the NCBA CUP 2020 delayed due to the pandemic was finally played between Burhani Sport Club and Pakistan Cricket Club. A match attended by many, all in the anticipation of witnessing who the next new champions will be as both teams had never reached this far in the past tournaments. It was an amazing match befitting a final with the pendulum of predicted victory swinging back and forth between the two teams as they took their chances to grab hold the prestigious NCBA CUP.

Under windy conditions , BSC won the toss and elected to bowl first ,a decision they did not regret even though they had the power hitting line up include their trump card Kenyan National player Alex Obanda . Was it the wind giving the BSC bowlers extra drift or the extra grip in the wicket that troubled PCC’s top order batsmen as they found themselves losing regular wickets with nothing respectable on the board up until Ahmed Muzeef took his guard on the crease. What followed was a blistering display of Paki power hitting that gave his team a decent total of 139runs to defend, with Muzeef ending up with a match top score of 53 runs. Collins Obuya(3/22) and Hiren Varaiya(2/19) showing their class in the conditions, both gave their team a maiden over in their allocated 4 overs spells.

The windy match conditions did not spare the BSC batsmen as they too fell at regular intervals. Alex Obanda(25 runs) tried to keep his regular blistering scoring rate but succumbed to Muzeef’s (2/41) who showed that he could also perform with the ball in hand along with his able opening partner, Hamza Liaqat (3/33). The Pakis looked threatening to defend their total but with the cool headedness of the partnership between Collins Obuya (28 runs) and Moiz Shiraz (23 runs) ,BSC gained the momentum needed for their captain Murtaza Bakir (33 runs) to steer his team home to victory by 4 wickets and crowned the new NCBA Champions. BSC player Collins Obuya was awarded with a Player of the Match.

At the Prize giving ceremony, the below achievements were presented:

Winners – Burhani Sports Club

Runner Up – Pakistan Cricket Club

Man of the Series - Puru Sharma

Best Batsman – Alex Obanda

Best Bowler – Hiren Varaiya

Fairplay Award - Shree Cutchi Leva Sports Club