Back to News

Mombasa Sports Club A Defend their 30 over Knockout Title

Sunday the 28th of September 2014, saw defending champions Mombasa Sports Club successfully defend their title by beating arch rivals Coast Gymkhana in a thriller encounter worthy of a final match.

Winning the toss, MSC once again decided to take to the field. With overcast conditions, the ball was expected to swing and that it did. The opening bowlers Zahirabbas Khaku 3/17 got things going early by dismissing the opening batsmen and Thabit Mohamed 0/16 kept things tight from the other end. At 33/4, MSC seemed on top but a crucial knock from Jalpesh V. 49 and Shreyash D. 21 who put up a 70 run partnership saw CGSC reach a challenging total of 136/7. Bhavya Thaker 2/31 was crediting with breaking the partnerships that always threatened to take the game away from MSC along with some sharp fielding that resulted in 2 run outs Other run contributors were Devarshi B. 16, Sanjay P 11 and Luv M 11 n/o.

MSC started their innings briskly reaching 25 in 5 over before opener Mohammed Al-harazi 14 was beautifully bowled out by Kshitij 1/28. Yusuf Bakir 25 kept the runs flowing before being dismissed in the 13th over after which followed a terrorizing bowling spell by Luv Manek 4/11. At 67/5 , CG looked on top of things but a match winning innings from Taaha Sulemanji 38 n/o and a blistering 31 from Vishal Shikotra saw MSC cross the finish line in the 27th over. MSC finished 139/7

The Division B Final also took place a day earlier where Cutchi Leva B were crowned the New Division B Champions after they demolished Simba Sports B at Coast Gymkhana Ground.

Winning the toss Cutchi Leva elected to field first and a fantastic display of attacking bowling from Khailesh Hirani 4/18 and Akshay Bhandari 4/6 bundled out Simba B for only 46 runs. Clearly the Cutchi boys had brought their A game to the final as none of the Simba batsmen managed to cross double figure with highest run contributor coming from extras.

Chasing a the low target, Cutchi B lost an early wicket but good batting by Pritesh Hirani 33n/o ensured his team reach the target in the 10th over.

At the Prize giving, Zahirabbas Khaku (8 wickets) of MSC once again picked up the award for the Highest Wicket Taker of the tournament while Devarshi B. (126 runs) of CGSC picked up the Highest Run Getter in Division 1. While in Division 2, Khailesh Hirani (9 wickets) of SCLPS- B won the Highest Wicket Taker and Satinder Singh (89 runs) of MSSC- B picked the Highest Run Getter.