Back to News

Mombasa Sports Club hatrick of T20 Wins 2012-2014 – Unbeaten in Entire Season of Cricket.

Once again Mombasa Sports Club triumphed on the local Cricketing circuit beating all local sides to take the 2013/14 Season undefeated for another Year running. In the just concluded T20 Zahra Cup, semi-finalists Burhani Sports Club and Coast Gymkhana battled it out in the morning with Burhani winning the semi to face Sports Club in the final.

Devarshi Brambhatt (42) and Adarsh Sawjani (26)* batted a brilliuant innings to take Gymkhana through to 145/6 in their 20 overs. Hussein Mukarram’s 3/23 the only hindrance to a greater total. However, even this score did not daunt the Burhani boys as they reached the target with 9 deliveries to spare as Ammar Taibali (30) and Paul Anjara (31) scored the runs for the side against a lack lustre bowling attack from Gymkhana. - Full Scorecard

Having qualified for the final, Burhani managed a paltry 101 for 8 in their 20 as star Paul Anjara failed to kick off against Sports Club’s Taaha Suleimanji (4/15) who ripped through the Burhani Bowling. Idris Yusufali (41) and Yusuf Hussein (24) valiant in their efforts to put the runs on the board. The chase was a walk in the park as Sports Clubs Yusuf Bakirali posted a quick-fire 65* to secure the T20 cup for Sports Club 3rd Year running with ease born of regular victories against the coastal sides. - Full Scorecard

Short of some serious effort by all other sides in the region, Mombasa Sports Club remains set to remain the champion side on the island for another season starting May this Year. Also to blame is the lack of support and backing by local communities who have traditionally favoured cricket as their Sunday sport of choice.